The Problem with This Blog

Well, one problem –among many others–  is as follows:

Nobody wants to read your shit.

Let me repeat that. Nobody–not even your dog or your mother–has the slightest interest in your commercial for Rice Krispies or Delco batteries or Preparation H. Nor does anybody care about your one-act play, your Facebook page or your new sesame chicken joint at Canal and Tchopotoulis.

It isn’t that people are mean or cruel. They’re just busy.

Nobody wants to read your shit.

Thus sayeth the great Steven Pressfield, expounding on the lesson he learned from his early and formative adventures in Don Draper-land. Me personally, anything to do with sesame chicken kinda captures my attention, but I take his point.

Every now and then daily readership around here might pop up into the forties or fifties or something. I usually credit that to a misleading –though unintentionally so–  tag. Like Cool Names. That one doubtless suckered in a few of the parentally-inclined looking to find just the right handle for the impending papoose. And Spr*ngst**n, you just can’t put his name and the word t*ck*ts in the same post at all. Found that out.

Decided to try a Sesame Chicken tag. In the interests of pure research, you understand.

Now, I don’t take my low numbers personally. This blog is just me, kinda mumbling to myself. Sometimes, Mrs. Stagger to the contrary, I even know what I’m talking about. Most times, well…

Pressfield, though. A whole other matter. If you enjoy reading novels, read his. I have my faves —Gates of Fire natch, but also Last of the Amazons (love me an uber-woman)– but they’re all pretty good. If you’re trying to do anything in a creative vein that’s kinda hard and you’re running yourself into all kinds of roadblocks and you’re looking for inspiration or a few practical tips or maybe just a kick in the ass, The War of Art is terrific. In fact, ask me, non-freakin’- pareil.

Also, check out his blog, and especially look at his videos regarding tribalism. This shit, you need.

2 responses to “The Problem with This Blog

  1. thanks !! very helpful post!

  2. Maybe you could make changes to the blog title The Problem with This Blog | Slow Stagger to something more specific for your content you make. I enjoyed the post still.

Leave a Reply

