You Say You Want A Resolution, Well…

A staple of every publication at the New Year, along with “Best Ten” lists into the high thousands, is the debate over the utility of New Year’s resolutions. My philosophy is basically: can’t hurt, can it? This may not be the strongest statement you could make on the subject. It may itself demonstrate a certain lack of resolve in the resolution department, if you know what I mean. But that’s where I am.

My own, such as they are, will revolve around writing (this blog, among other endeavors), painting (I’ve been taking some oil classes lately; start a new one next week), and the ever and ever popular “getting in shape.” Since you’re most likely to share this last concern, I’ll make a couple of modest suggestions.

First, if you’re a guy, read this. It’s from a site called Testosterone Nation and, since they’re not exactly frail flowers over there, it may be a swifter kick in the ass than you’re looking for. But try it; it might be up your alley. If it’s a dark alley.

Male or female, I’d advise that you take a look at “FIT.” Focused Intensity Training is an approach to (primarily) weight training developed by Shawn Philips. It’s received a big endorsement from Ken Wilber, and he’s made it an important component of his own “Integral” system of personal development. In fact, I was first introduced to FIT during a week of training sponsored by Wilber’s Integral Institute. Wilber, his writings, his organization: these are subjects for another time. Whatever Ken Wilber may be wrong about, I don’t think he’s wrong about the value of FIT. I use the basic evolution of Ground-Charge-Focus-Recover every time I work out. I think Philips may have now changed that terminology a little, but the structure, and its value, remains. It’s not necessary to buy an expensive book; you might check it out of the library. Strength for Life, I think that’s what it’s called. And ,of course, there’s the internet. A YouTube video, if nothing else.

Incidentally, no disclosures to be made: I have zero association, financial or otherwise, with Philips or Wilber. I’ve just found this part of their work extremely valuable. In the words of the philosopher (in this case, Bruce Lee): take what is useful. In fact that would be a good resolution all by itself, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

